Some promotional discounts are not showing up at checkout - they will be applied manually after the order has been placed. We apologize for the inconvenience. We appreciate your patience as we repair this issue.

4.8
20 Reviews
5
85% (17)
4
10% (2)
3
5% (1)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
95% Recommend this product (19 of 20 responses)
By A H.
My Pionus’s favorite food
January 12, 2024
I have been having a hard time finding this particular food for my Pionus, who loves every bit of food in this mix. Pet Guys has it and at a reasonable price. It was packed well and showed up in two days. My biggest concern about bird food are pantry moths and larvae in the bags and I have not seen either one so another plus for the Pet Guys!
By Brenda
Volkmans Hookbill
June 9, 2023
Been using this for the last 8 years and nothing compares in my opinion. My birds love it and it’s not full of dust and dirt from the mill.
By Sandy
Pet Guys to the rescue
January 29, 2023
I am so beyond happy I found Pet Guys online. I wasn't having any luck finding my Amazon's favorite seed and I had only about 3 cups left in the bag. Every pet food company was taking advantage of it's consumers by jacking up the price of pet food. This hook bill seed for my Amazon comes in a 4 pound bag and was selling for $25 - $28 at Chewy.com and on Amazon. But, everywhere was out of stock. Pet Guys to the rescue, and I really do mean they rescued me and my Gina. I will be buying all my pets needs at Pet Guys. I hope the owner reads my review because I want him to know that as a consumer I am so very grateful to find someone who isn't taking severe advantage of it's customers just because they can. I understand some items will become hard to order as supplies are limited, but you guys had some left to sell and I let out a huge sigh of relief. AND, the shipping was amazingly FAST. You guys just blew me away by absolutely positive experience I had with my first order. Thank you so much.
Pros
  • You had the product I desperately needed
  • You were selling it for the correct price and didn't gauge me like other companies are trying to do to customers
  • The shipping was incredibly fast. You guys must have packaged the order the very next day and off it went in the mail.
  • Excellent service Pet Guys!!!!!!!!!
Cons
  • No cons. Hands down my hero.
By Eddie
Volkman Avian Science Hookbill
June 5, 2022
I love all Volkman seed. It's always fresh and smells good and my birds love it. I have African Greys and a Jardines parrot.
By S G.
Too much of this is wasted by my Caiques
May 1, 2022
This was my second order from Pet Guys and I am about to place a third order. Pet Guys is a great company offering a great price and great service - I am really glad I found them on the web. Now about this food: I have tried four bags of the VAS Super Hookbill food with my Caiques as a different choice, but they have made it clear that it simply does not make them as happy as the Super Eclectus food. There are a number of freeze dried foods that are used in this blend, like peas and corn. They think it is great fun to pick those out and fling them across the room - but they will not eat these freeze dried veggies. I have tried them to see why and they are simply too hard. So, if you have Caiques, the Super Eclectus food is a much better choice.
Cons
  • Too much goes to waste when feeding this food to Caiques.
By Phil
Been feeding to our Sun Conure for years
March 25, 2022
Been using it for our Sun Conure for years and he likes it. Excellent quality seed and petguys does a fantastic job and ships promptly :)
By Sherry
Happy bird mom
March 23, 2022
My parrotlet loves the mixture great value 🐦
By Debbie
Volkman super hookbill
March 9, 2022
Great product if you don't want any sunflower seeds. Very clean seed. My birds love it.
Pros
  • no sunflower seeds
  • very clean
  • human grade
By cockatielmorse
Excellent parrot (Pionus) mix
January 9, 2022
I've been using this mix for at least a decade and couldn't be happier. Volkman is an excellent brand. No bugs, always fresh, and my parrot loves it. Excellent price and fast shipping from PetGuys.
By Paul
great product, great price
December 14, 2021
Love this brand and my birds eat it up, and love the great price and free shipping
By JF
Bird 🐦 liked the food
June 27, 2021
Bird 🐦 liked the food
By Beverly
Bought as a substitute
June 23, 2021
I like all of the Volkman products that I have purchased. They make quality products. I bought Avian Hookbill because Pet Guys has been out of African Grey Science which I believe is far superior than the Avian Hookbill. I have mixed the two products together until Pet Guys gets more African Grey Science in stock or I purchase it elsewhere. Pet Guys has very good service and usually ships right away.
By Maddie M.
Only Pet Guys for Your Pet Needs
February 15, 2021
Great service Great Products Fast Delivery
By Cedarcrest C.
Great product
February 7, 2021
Our Amazon Buddy seems to love it!
By Don R.
My bird seems to like it
January 15, 2021
My bird seems to like this food, of course it does not have much choice in the matter. Was delivered quickly and in good shape.
By Jessica
Bird loves it. Healthy mix.
September 26, 2020
Recommended by my Veterinarian. My bird loves this mix.
Pros
  • Recommended by my Veterinarian.
Cons
  • None
By Ferryl L.
Best seed mix around
September 3, 2020
Best sunflower free seed mix on the market.
By Maxx m.
My greys love this brand!
June 8, 2020
Great price, double wrapped when packed, and never had to leave the house to get it that's a big plus these days, shipped fast.
By Lynn
Budgies love this food
May 22, 2020
My 2 Budgies love this food but they do not eat all of it - some of the pieces/seeds are too large for them. I will likely pick out the larger pieces and use a hand chopper to make those most appropriate for the small birds to see if tthey will eat all of the food. I also feed the Volkman Avian Science Parakeet blend in addition to the Super Hookbill food (along with fresh greens/veggies and other treats).
By Shoshannah
Volkman bird seed
November 15, 2019
I have been trying many brands of seed but this seed is thoughtfully mixed and very clean which lends to less waste..I am thrilled to find this company which carries it at a great price and ships it carefully . Thank you so very much !

Page 1 of 1